Marsh Dweller - The Weight of Sunlight

by Marsh Dweller

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $7 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    This release comes with a 12-page booklet and is housed in a jewel case.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Marsh Dweller - The Weight of Sunlight via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      $12 USD or more 




On The Weight of Sunlight – as with the classic, unhyphenated heavy metal of the ‘80s - you will find an album carefully constructed without filler, wherein no riff feels unnecessary, heart always transcends bravado, and a common sense approach to songwriting triumphs over mindlessness. Though the styles appear disparate at first glance (melodic death/black metal alongside pure heavy metal), the melding of genres is seamless, and you’ll find yourself drawn in for this entire 43-minute ride. No overly long, too-tech missives here: just a compactness and directness both refreshing and necessary in today’s bloated metal universe.

Though a sense of chosen solitude permeates each track, Marsh Dweller was created in collaboration. Guest appearances from the likes of Tanner Anderson (Obsequiae, Celestiial), Andrew D’Cagna (Brimstone Coven, Obsequiae, Nechochwen) and Aaron Carey (Nechochwen, End) add additional textures to the already-varied work on display. Yet as before, each contribution adds just the right amount of color to John Owen Kerr’s vocals, guitars, and drumming, forming a rich palette of metal, compelling enough in its own right.

"Through its 43 minute runtime, Sunlight soars through an assortment of lush streaming leads, chunky shuffling chords, cresting treetop melodies, and perfectly placed moments of rich woodsy ambience." -

"...expect this to be lush, emotive, downright gorgeous, and occasionally even *rock* a little." -


released August 15, 2016

John Owen Kerr: All vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, drums, lyrics, samples, composition
Andrew d'Cagna: Bass
Tanner Anderson: Guitar solo (Track 2), Synthesizers (Track 7)
Aaron Carey: Guitar solo (Track 4)
Michelle Bellucci: Singing bowl, samples (Track 5)



all rights reserved